Tags

, , , , ,

This happened last night here in Pocatello. Here’s the info from the Idaho State Journal

NOTE: The mother of the victim here maintains that no alcohol or excessive speed was involved. Please read her comment below. My comments regarding motorcycle safety still stand.

 A Chubbuck man died and his passenger was seriously hurt in a motorcycle accident at 960 Hoot Owl Road just north of Inkom on Thursday about 7:32 p.m., according to Idaho State Police.

The motorcyclist was riding west on Hoot Owl Road when he lost control of his black 2003 Harley-Davidson motorcycle, state police report.

The driver ran off the road, collided with a fence and died instantly. The passenger  was transported to the Portneuf Medical Center in Pocatello with severe injuries.

Alcohol and speed are believed to be factors in the accident, state police said. Neither the driver nor passenger were wearing helmets. .

I’ve ridden Hoot Owl road  dozens of times and it can be tricky with some loose rock falling onto the roadway and several curves, at east one of which is a bit off-camber. Push it too hard, even if you haven’t  been drinking, and you could go down. I’ve had a couple of “Oh Shit!” moments on Hoot Owl. I like my beers as much or even more than the next guy but I save it till the ride is done and I’m getting better (not perfect) at always wearing my helmet.  Always a tragedy when a young rider goes down. SOB

